This website looks best on browsers that support Web Standards, but its content is available on any browser or internet device.
Please download the latest versions of Internet Explorer (5.1 or higher) or Netscape Navigator (6.0 or higher).

d
Spring 2012

K-96 June Jaunt

Experience Home-Town America

by Jana Delissa

Eight communities in seven counties will host the K-96 June Jaunt June 1-3, 2012. These communities along Kansas Highway 96 are preparing to show the world just why they are a great place to visit, with events and attractions for visitors of every age. The Jaunt will focus on arts and antiques, crafts, cuisine, music and more.

During the Jaunt, communities will spotlight tourism attractions that are open year-round. Each of the towns has at least one museum or historical site to visit. Group tours will be offered at the Underground World in Ellinwood, at Scott County's Battle Canyon and at the Kansas Wetlands in Great Bend.

Special events are also scheduled in each town to interest just about anyone. Music lovers can attend concerts at Dighton, Scott City or Great Bend. Outdoor movies will be shown in Dighton, Ellinwood and Leoti. History lovers may want to meet Buffalo Bill in Dighton, tour the historical Washington Ames house in Leoti or see historical re-enactments in Scott City. Youngsters (or the young at heart) can participate in the Kansas' Largest Water Balloon fight in Ness City, play games in Scott City and Dighton, or swim for free at Tribune. Night-owls can finish a long day of activities on Saturday with a street dance in either Ness City or Scott City.

Those who appreciate art may want to attend art displays and art demonstrations in Great Bend, check out the art and antique outdoor market in Ellinwood or attend the local artists' showing in Scott City. Children may be interested in the children's craft hour or chalk art for young children in Great Bend. People with artistic abilities may want to enter the sidewalk chalk contest in Leoti or take a jewelry making class in Great Bend.

Shoppers, do not dismay – plenty of shopping opportunities will be available during the Jaunt. A sidewalk sale, community-wide garage sale, farmers market or an outdoor market of some kind is planned in every town. Plenty of food will also be available at a BBQ meal in Leoti, a BBQ contest in Scott City, a community picnic and hog roast in Tribune, and an Imaginizza (invent a pizza contest) in Dighton.

Each town has planned events to entertain visitors. Tribune will host a Fly-in and a Big Boys-Big Toys Show. Leoti plans a Top Shot contest and a Rough Stock Challenge. Scott City has an Antique Roadshow planned at two locations. While at Dighton, visitors can go on a free hayride and attend the annual Bluegrass Festival. Ness City will host water activities and games. A Farmers Market in LaCrosse will open at 7:30 Saturday morning. Great Bend plans a Special Needs Fishing Derby and will supply maps for a Walking Birdhouse Tour. Ellinwood has scheduled an antique car show.

The ultimate goal of the Jaunt is to get people to travel from one community to another along K-96 from Tribune to Ellinwood. "Jaunters" will be enticed to travel across the 136 mile stretch of highway with special travel-related activities such as a multi-county scavenger hunt, geo-caching and community card validations. Details about these travel enticements will be available soon.

More information about the Jaunt may be found at www.k96junejaunt.com or beginning in April, in the 16 page tabloid with specific details about all the events that may be picked up at various locations along the Jaunt route.

 

Community-Wide Garage Sales & Downtown Sidewalk Sales - Friday, 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. CT/8 a.m.—5 p.m. MT, Saturday, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. CT/ 8 1.m.—12 noon MT. Explore Tribune and Horace as you hunt for treasures at garage and sidewalk sales throughout the community. Maps will be available at M & M Antiques (402 Broadway); Dixon Drug (424 Broadway); and Eagle Convenience (215 W. Kansas/Junction of Highway 27 & Highway 96).

Horace Greeley Museum - Fri., Sat., Sun., 11 a.m. – 5p.m. CT/10 a.m.—4 p.m. MT, 214 E. Harper, Tribune. Walk in the footsteps of early pioneers as you visit the Horace Greeley Museum and ask about other community historical points.

Family Movie - Fri. & Sun., 8 p.m. CT/ 7 p.m. MT, 415 Broadway (Star Theater). Enjoy a family-friendly movie at the Star Theater of Tribune.

Tribune's K-96 June Jaunt Car Show
Sat., 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT/8 a.m.—4 p.m. MT. Zenaide Street, Tribune. Welcoming classic cars from the area, this inaugural event will award prizes to the top fifteen cars and encourages visitors to get a close look at a number of classically restored machines.

The Trench Bar & Grill Poker Run
Sat., 10 a.m. CT/9 a.m. MT, 208 W. Kansas, Tribune. Join area motorcyclists and car enthusiasts for a day-long ride. The Poker Run concludes at 4 p.m. with a hog roast and dance at the Trench Bar & Grill.

The Trench Bar & Grill Hog Roast & Dance
Sat., 5 p.m. – 3 a.m. CT/4 p.m.—2 a.m. MT, 208 W. Kansas, Tribune.

Big Boys Big Toys Show - Sat., 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT/10 a.m.—4 p.m. MT, 1001 Ingalls (Fairgrounds), Tribune. Bring your children or find your inner child to explore, take pictures with, and learn about the large agricultural and commercial equipment you see in today's fields.

Farm Critters Petting Zoo - Sat., 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT/ 10 a.m.—4 p.m. MT, 1001 Ingalls (Fairgrounds), Tribune. Pet a cow, make friends with a lamb, laugh at a pig, and much more. This petting zoo will showcase a range of farm animals sure to delight kids and adults alike.

Free Swimming - Sat., 2 – 6 p.m. CT/ 1-5 p.m. MT, 200 W. Zenaide Street, Tribune. Cool off as you splash in with new friends at the Greeley County Pool.

Community Picnic in the Park - Sat., 6 –8 p.m. CT/ 5-7 p.m. MT, 1001 Ingalls (City Park), Tribune. Join visitors and community members for a family-friendly picnic at City Park. A free family-oriented movie will follow around 9 p.m. CT/ 8 p.m. MT or whenever it gets dark.

Full Moon in June Family Fun Run/Walk & 5K, 10K Run - Sat., 150 East Fourth Street, Tribune. Registration: 8 p.m. CT/7 p.m. MT. Family 2-Mile Run/Walk: 9 p.m. CT/8 p.m. MT, 5k & 10K Run: 10 p.m. CT/ 9 p.m. MT. Join other families for a run-walk around town or compete with other runners in the 5k or 10k run, which is run on a dirt road with only the moon for light.

4-Person Scramble - Sun., Tee-Times at 9 a.m. & 2 p.m. CT/ 8 a.m. & 1 p.m. MT, Prairie Ridge Golf Course, Tribune, $120 Entry Fee, $1,000 Prize Money

Bingo at the VFW Hall - Sun., Doors open at 6:30 p.m. CT/ 5:30 p.m. MT. Games begin at 7 p.m. CT/ 6 p.m. MT. Enjoy an evening of bingo with the area VFW Post and loyal followers.

Enjoy meals at the Burger Bar, the Chatterbox, Eagle Convenience, Karen's Kitchen & the Trench. Shop at Colleen's Antiques; Dixon Drug; the Flower Shoppe; Karen's Kitchen, Antiques & Collectables; M & M Antiques, and more!

 


Explore The Legend Magazine